SAMR Model Revisited

Today, I attended the EARCOS workshop, Technology in the Classroom, which was presented by Chris Toy. Being the good COETAILer that I am, I thought I would reflect on those parts of the presentation that resonated with me.

At the end of the day, we were asked to jot down three words that summed up the learning that had taken place. I wrote down “Collaboration equals transformation.” When I say “transformation”, I’m referring to task/activity transformation – the kind of transformation referred to in the model below. It came to me today that using technology to enable collaboration, whether across a classroom or across the globe, is a transformative use of technology. It’s transformative because two classes, half a world away, collaborating in real time simply wasn’t possible before. So, yes, collaboration equals transformation.

Another example of technology-enabled task transformation is publishing media to social media sites such as YouTube, Vimeo and Flickr (to name a few.) It’s transformative because social media sites, such as YouTube, have audiences numbering in the millions. For a student 15 years ago, simply publishing, let alone publishing to an audience numbering in the millions, was impossible.

Do you have any examples of technology-enabled task transformation?

Image Credits:

6 thoughts on “SAMR Model Revisited

  1. Two years ago, Chris Toy came to our school for professional development. It would have been interesting to hear him now with the background from Coetail. I really like the idea of how you simplified “collaboration is transformation.” That is so true. I heard a colleague say, “I don’t know how to have the students collaborate when there is one student in front of one computer.” How I wish more of our teachers would attend Coetail and see how technology can transform education. Too often they are worried that technology is placed above the content, but in both of your examples it is content that students are sharing. We recently read a blog post by a K-3 grade class in Canada who are studying living things. We were able to read the comments by a retired teacher in Australia and add our own comments. Students hearing from other students and other experts makes the content so much more interesting and alive.

  2. Pingback: Reflection on COETAIL Project Implementation | the modern age

  3. I’ve been thinking about this too. I’m really looking forward to seeing what sort of redefinition/transformation ideas people present when we come back together in December because I still feel like most of the projects that I see are transformative in a flat classroom sort of way (breaking down obstacles of time and distance), that do suggest new collaborative options and audiences, but haven’t yet for me profoundly elevated the learning. I still have a suspicion that this may have to do with the age ranges we’re talking about (being lower elementary). I’m looking forward to seeing how things have gone for others!
    Thanks for the post!

    Jamie

  4. Hi Jean,

    Thank you for the comment and my apologies for the late reply.

    It’s a good thing to keep in mind that content must always come before technology. I need to pin this to my noticeboard!

    Thanks,
    Jamie

  5. Hi Jamie,

    That’s a good point and has now got me thinking: what’s an example of transformation that has elevated learning? It’s a tough one to measure too. Let me think about it.

    Thanks for the comment!
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

