NETS Revisited

What I’ve Been Reading:

This Week’s Question:

  • Whose job is it to teach the NETS standards to students and how do we ensure they are being met in an integrated model?

Next school year, my role within the school will be changing. I will continue teaching IGCSE Computer Studies to Grades 9 and 10 and math to Grade 7, but will be relieved of my elementary technology classes so that I can become a technology coach.

I’m over the moon with the decision because COETAIL has directly and indirectly introduced me to some great ideas for technology integration in the classroom and I want to share these ideas with the teachers at my school. And being a technology coach will enable me to do this.

Anyway, enough about me – on with the post.

DSC_0766

So whose job is it to teach the NETS standards to students?

Well, next year, at my school, I’m pretty sure this responsibility will fall onto myself and the teachers I coach.

Do I think this approach should be adopted by other schools?

Well, I don’t know. I’ll be able to give you an answer to that next year. But, in theory, I like this approach. Because anyone that expects a teacher to go out there and get familiar with a bunch of different technologies and then get familiar with the NETS standards, in addition to teaching their regular load, in my opinion, is expecting too much. (COETAILers, I’m not talking about you. You guys are special.)

The technology coach helps bridge the gap between teachers, their classrooms, and, ultimately, the NETS standards.

Image Credits:

One thought on “NETS Revisited

Leave a Reply

