Teachers, Students and Tech Standards

What I’ve Been Reading:

This Week’s Question:

  • How can teachers and schools ensure that students are meeting technology standards in their school within an integrated model?

First, wow, these questions (the ones for Course 4) are tough! Really tough. They’ve definitely gone up a level.

DSC_0045

Straight into It
Ensuring students are meeting technology standards, as you might expect, is no easy task. There are a number of pre-requisites that need to be satisfied before students can start meeting technology standards.

I want to stop here, just for a moment. I’m interpreting this question in two ways. The first interpretation goes like this: what needs to be in place to ensure students can meet technology standards? And the second interpretation goes a little like this: how can teachers and schools assess whether technology standards are being met by their students?

When I began this post, I was thinking more the first way. But now, I’m thinking more the second way. I might just try answering both questions.

DSC_0037

One thing that I feel needs to be in place before students can start meeting technology standards (like NETS) is that teachers are meeting the standards. Is this a given? Am I just writing about the obvious? I really don’t know.

How are we as teachers expected to measure the degree to which a student has met a technology standard if we ourselves don’t fully understand the standard?

I just want to add here that I understand that there are NETS for students and NETS for teachers. What I’m trying to say is that teachers, ideally, should be meeting both.

Without really meaning to, I’ve realised my answer to the first question (the first interpretation) could also be used to answer the second question. How can teachers and schools assess whether technology standards are being met by their students? Well, having a teaching faculty that already meets those technology standards is a start.

How About Through TPACK (Ensuring Students Are Meeting Technology Standards)?
I didn’t make the connection between this week’s driving question and TPACK until just now.

Drawing up a TPACK diagram for a unit (even for a course) is one way of ensuring that units are aligned with technology standards – that units are providing students with learning experiences that enable them to meet technology standards.

I need to gain more experience with TPACK usage before I can comment on their effectiveness and thoroughness.

Image Credits:

3 thoughts on “Teachers, Students and Tech Standards

  1. Hi Jamie,

    Thanks for your post. I like your idea of holding teachers accountable to the Nets standards for teachers, which should certainly help the school achieve the outcome of Nets standards for students. I hate to say it, but I think for that to truly mean anything to staff though is that they need to know that they will be evaluated regularly and consistently on how they are meeting both sets of standards. To give you an example, we recently had a school wide initiative to improve the displays outside of our classrooms. We had always been asked by admin to keep things looking good and given some general guidelines about how things should look, but hadn’t heard much about it since September. Hence: schoolwide displays were dated and looking a bit weak in the eyes of admin. They then came forward with a new display board policy that has much more detail and calls for more rigor, much of which wasn’t popular at first. But now that displays are out and done, people feeling like they climbed the mountain, there seems to be an understanding, perhaps even an appreciation of how much better the school looks.(Amongst a few at least!)

    I suppose my point and question is, can we expect these standards to “stand” on their own, or do they need to have consistent admin support/making sure things are where they should be?

    Take care!

    • Hi David

      First, thanks for your comment!

      This course, I’m trying to keep on top of everything (readings, posts, etc.) Let’s see how I go!

      Recently in my math class, we learnt about polygons and transforming them through reflection, rotation and translation. Prior to this, the last time I did this kind of work was back when I was in grade seven. As you can expect, I had to relearn everything before giving the lesson.

      I suppose this is where I’m coming from in this post. I think it’s going to be really tough for teachers to help their students meet technology standards like NETS if they themselves haven’t met those standards.

      I still have a long way to go I feel with this whole topic. I’m just a beginner at the moment.

      Thanks again for your comment.

      Jamie

  2. Great! Love the way you answered your own questions as you were writing! A really interesting perspective too – I wonder how teachers would feel about this approach? How would you “test” if the teachers were able to do all of the standards? People in my PLN are often talking about whether or not you can be a “good teacher” (or an “effective teacher”) without tech skills, your post makes me wonder if we can ensure that the standards are met by our students if we can’t meet them ourselves. A very tricky question. Thanks for getting me thinking!

Leave a Reply

