Branding? Not for me………. at least not now

Volta: Coffee/Commodity/Art

In this week’s readings, there was an article on branding by Dan Schawbel. After reading through it for the first time, despite having about a 100 questions, I kind of liked the gist of branding. I can see how it could help in separating one from the rest when applying for a job. And, moreover, I can see how it could, depending on the quality of the brand, help in attracting job offers – what I mean to say is, I can see how branding could elevate one’s online presence which may, in turn, result in companies or schools making job offers.

But, I kind of feel branding is meant for consultants and presenters – people with jobs that depend on presence and reputation. Not for people like me.

I’m a teacher. My job doesn’t depend on my online presence. I’m not saying that I don’t need an online presence, in fact, I think it’s vital that teachers nowadays have one. But, what I’m trying to say is, I don’t see the point. How is branding going to make me a better teacher? How is branding going to help my students?

As always, your thoughts and comments are more than welcome.

Image Credits:

Volta: Coffee/Commodity/Art by DaseinDesign. Found on Flickr. Creative Commons Licensed.

3 thoughts on “Branding? Not for me………. at least not now

  1. I had similar thoughts when I began reading about branding, however, the more I thought about it the more I realized that if I can articulate who I am and what I want to be as an educator it will make me a better teacher. I had thought through what I wanted to use as my “brand” and then asked a graduate if he would be willing to design the logo. He is presently in art school and his main focus is branding. I sent him the link to my blog post and he used that to create the logo. I told him to take his time, but in less than 12 hours I had a logo! I’m pleased that as a New Year begins, I can easily articulate what I stand for as an educator. It is worth taking the time. It helped to ask my principal and colleagues how they would describe me and then chose what fit who I am and who I want to be.

  2. Hi Jean
    Thank you for your reply.
    Yes, I agree with you. Articulating who we are and what we want to be makes us better teachers. And I feel my blog is enabling me to do this. “What is branding going to do for me that my blog alone can’t do?”, I suppose is one of the questions I’m asking.
    I like how you asked your colleagues to describe you as a way to getting to the essence of your brand.

  3. I agree with Jean above, and I think the purpose of branding also goes beyond defining who we are. Developing your brand helps you connect with others who share your goals, and helps them find you. It’s in those connections, that development of a Personal Learning Network that helps you become a better teacher. Interacting with others with similar values, perspectives and “missions” helps push your own thinking, expose you to new ideas, and continue the process of self-improvement. In our case, it’s not always “just” about “selling” your brand, but about making connections with others that can help you understand your own subject even better.

Leave a Reply

