Mathematical Concepts Through Images

What I’ve Been Reading:

I’ve been putting off this post for a long time.

I’ve never used images in my teaching before; nor have I, before, really considered using images in my teaching. So, because of this, it was tough to get started on this post.

Anyway…

The following animation I came across one day on Wikipedia when I was reading about pi.┬áIt demonstrates the relationship between diameter, circumference and pi………. very effectively.

This (the relationship between diameter, circumference and pi), from my experience, is something students have trouble understanding/visualising.

The current book we’re using in class doesn’t do a great job of explaining this relationship. And, to make things harder for the students, I too have a tough time explaining it.

It’s (the animation) something I’m definitely going to use next school year when I teach area of a circle again.

The next image, I’m planning to use when I teach functions again next school year.

In many ways, a function is comparable to a machine (or at least this type of machine) (and by the way, I have no idea what this machine does.) They both take an input. They both do things to this input. And, finally, they both give an output.

I might need to photoshop input and output arrows into the image. Input on the left and output on the right. I might also need to photoshop a function into the image (just above the machine) so that students better understand the analogy.

Image Credits:

One thought on “Mathematical Concepts Through Images

  1. Two great uses of visual imagery for math class! For those of that are not mathematically inclined (as I would imagine some of your students might be), these kinds of images really help us understand the concepts. The more different ways you can find to explain the same thing, the better all of your students will understand. Well done!

Leave a Reply

